Instant Pickle for Banh Mi

Instant Pickle for Banh Mi

Instant Pickle for Banh Mi

I am a huge fan of Banh Mi and make a pretty decent vegetarian version of it (recipe here). The wife was feeling like a Banh MI recently and I was feeling adventurous so I decided to make a Paneer Banh Mi instead of the usual Tofu version. It was good but not great. Recipe will follow soon. It makes for a nice change. However in my quest for finding a Paneer Banh Mi recipe ( I found one that didn’t look that great), I stumbled upon a Vegetarian Banh Mi recipe that called for making your own pickle, imagine that! Anyway, I didn’t need much more motivation and never being the one to follow recipes I made my own. It was a revelation. It was better than fantastic and I am never going back to store bought pickles for Banh Mi again. In fact the pickle is so good, you can use it on any type of sandwich. The recipe is simplicity itself.

INGREDIENTS (for a decent batch of pickle – enough for over a dozen sandwiches)

Two medium carrots – peeled and sliced into thick slices

6-8 small radishes – sliced into thick slices

1 large Jalapeno – sliced into thick slices

1/4 cup Rice Vinegar

1/4 cup White Vinegar

1/2 tsp Sugar

1/2 tsp Salt (add more if you like, the pickle should be salty but not over-salty)

STEPS

  1. Mix it all in a jar
  2. Let it sit for at least a couple of hours
  3. Use as you like
1 Comment

Filed under Catch-all

One response to “Instant Pickle for Banh Mi

  1. Pingback: Paneer Banh Mi/Paneer Tikka | foodydoody

Leave a Reply

