Mushroom Pizza with Black Truffle Oil

Quattro Formaggio Mushroom Pizza with Truffle Oil

Quattro Formaggio Mushroom Pizza with Truffle Oil

The last couple of times I have had great pizza (Serious Pie in Seattle and Olivella in Dallas) there has been one with Mushrooms, Cheese and Truffle Oil that has usually been the most stunning. So when on a recent trip to Italy, I came back with some excellent Truffle Oil – technically Olive Oil infused with Black Truffle, I decided to give it a try.

Couldn’t have been easier and it turned out really well. I made the dough like I usually do (see here). I then chopped up some mushrooms (I used a combination of Shiitake, Portobella and Porcini) and sauteed them with a couple of whole cloves of  garlic (to keep a subtle taste of garlic). I was ready.

I first stretched the dough for pizza, covered it with a thin coating of shredded Quatro Formaggio, then went the cooked mushrooms, some more cheese and then a drizzle of the Truffle Oil. Then the pizza went in the oven on my Baking Steel.

5 minutes later, I had a pretty stunning pie on my hands. Great taste and really easy to make.

Leave a comment

Filed under Italian

Leave a Reply

