Greek Style Eggplant with Feta

Greek Style Baked Eggplant and Stuffed Tomatoes

Greek Style Baked Eggplant and Stuffed Tomatoes

We went to Greece last year for a holiday. As is the case when one travels, when in Greece, you eat like the Greek. What we hadn’t accounted for is that the Greek eat Greek food, ALL the time. There is no respite. At least that is how it felt since we were hard-pressed to find restaurants that served anything but Greek food. I had written about my experience here.

Being vegetarian, we had our choice of the three or four dishes for every meal – Greek Salad, Stuffed Tomatoes and of course, the ubiquitous, Baked Eggplant with Feta. I love eggplant and especially loved it baked with Feta. However, I OD’ed on it, having had it for virtually every meal in Greece. A year having passed, I developed a hankering for the dish and decided to try making it.

Since I live in Texas, good Feta is really hard to come by. The grocery store Feta is terrible, now that I know what great Feta tastes like. The only tolerable Feta I found was a Sheep’s Milk Feta at Whole Foods. So I started with that. I then used some of the leftover Tomato-Basil Sauce(recipe here) and a long Japanese eggplant since I just happened to have it in the fridge.

Making the dish was easy. I first cut the eggplant diagonally into 1/4 inch slices that I seasoned with some salt and pepper and pan fried with a small amount of Olive Oil. The eggplant should brown slightly. I then greased a baking dish. Then I assembled the dish, putting a layer of eggplant, topped with the Tomato-Basil sauce, then another layer of eggplant, finally topping the whole thing with a generous helping of Feta.

The dish was then baked for about 40 mins at 400F in an oven, till the Feta started to brown. I then took it out, mashed everything together and threw in some shredded Basil leaves.

We had this with some crusty French bread and Stuffed Tomatoes (recipe here). Polí nóstimos!

Baked Eggplant with Feta, Stuffed Tomatoes and French Bread

Baked Eggplant with Feta, Stuffed Tomatoes and French Bread

 

2 Comments

Filed under Catch-all

2 responses to “Greek Style Eggplant with Feta

  1. Lovely post & this dish looks absolutely fantastic! I also travelled to Greece last year as a Vegetarian & found a great deal of the same things, so it’s nice to read about someone else’s experiences! If you have a minute, I’d love your thoughts on my stuffed veggies 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/les-petits-legumes-farcis/

Leave a Reply

