Arugula Artichoke Farfalle in a Balsamic Vinaigrette

Farfalle Arugula with Breaded Artichokes in a Balsamic Vinaigrette

Farfalle Arugula with Breaded Artichokes in a Balsamic Vinaigrette

A few days back I had the pleasure of teaching a pizza class with a good friend. There were a lot of ingredients left over at the end of the class and I ended up coming home with some arugula, artichokes and Parmigiano Reggiano cheese. I had not really done much with either Arugula or Artichoke but my friend suggested I look at throwing the arugula in with some pasta and a vinaigrette. He also suggested giving the artichokes an egg wash, coating them with breadcrumbs and deep frying them.

Not really keen on deep frying and having a grill on the patio (being the cheap Desi that I am, I need to find every occasion to use it since I bought it), I took the artichoke pieces, gave them and egg wash, coated them with a mix of Panko, salt and pepper, and then grilled them. I set these aside.

I then boiled some water and made Farfalle al dente. Some Balsamic Vinaigrette (3 portions Extra Virgin Olive Oil to 1 portion Balsamic Vinaigrette – shaken to within an inch of its life in an airtight jar till it emulsifies) was put together and tossed with the Farfalle & arugula.

To serve, I made a bed of the Farfalle/arugula salad, topped it with some freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano and then placed some grilled artichoke on top.

The verdict – the Farfalle/arugula combo with freshly grated cheese was incredibly good – there is something to be said about using simple, high quality ingredients in Italian cooking. I was not too happy with the artichokes. For me they didn’t work with the rest of the dish. But I guess food taste is subjective because the wife liked how the dish came together. Anyway, easy to put together and definitely worth trying.

2 Comments

Filed under Italian

2 responses to “Arugula Artichoke Farfalle in a Balsamic Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

