Greek inspired Eggplant Open Sandwich aka what you can do with your leftovers

Greek Style Eggplant Feta Open Sandwich

Greek Style Eggplant Feta Open Sandwich

We went to Greece last summer. It was a fantastic trip and we ate a LOT of Greek food – which if you are are vegetarian means eating a lot of eggplant and Feta (I had posted about my adventures here). Anyway, fast forward a few months and I ended up hungry at lunch with some leftover slices of grilled eggplant, Feta, Sourdough Bread and Tomato-Basil sauce that I had made for Pizza last week, in the fridge.

Inspired by my Greek adventure where Eggplant, Tomato, Basil and Feta often go together, I decided to create an open sandwich.  I started with slices of Sourdough bread (you can use any bread you like), topped it with some Tomato-Basil Sauce (recipe here). Grilled Eggplant slices went next, topped with a hint of sea salt. I topped it all with some more Tomato-Basil sauce and some Feta. A short stint on broil in the oven, and it was ready to eat.

Good stuff.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Catch-all

Leave a Reply

