Grilled Brussels Sprouts with Pistachio

Grilled Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios

Grilled Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios

Brussels Sprouts get a bad rap. When I told my kids that we were going to have them for dinner, they made a face. This is conditioning. My kids have never had Brussels Sprouts but kids at school have talked about yucky veggies and B Sprouts in particular. Never mind the fact that most of them are likely eating steamed veggies as a side to their meat-laden diet. And steamed veggies, as any vegetarian cook worth their weight in asparagus, will tell you usually are the blandest things on the planet.

Well, I like Brussels Sprouts. So does my wife. The fact is I haven’t made them in years because they weren’t a top-of-mind veggie. However, chancing upon some at the last grocery store run, I bought some. Then some Internet searches revealed that steaming, roasting and sauteeing are all appropriate treatments for this member of the cabbage family. I decided to go for a combination of steam and grill.

Since I was winging it, I don’t have the exact proportions but this is what I did.

1. Washed and steamed the sprouts for about 8 mins.

2. Cut them up in half.

3. Tossed them with minced garlic, Slap Ya Mama seasoning (good stuff), some brown sugar and olive oil.

4. Grilled them till they were slightly charred.

5. Served them tossed with some salted pistachios.

They were good. I want more. In fact, my wife reminded me of Brussels Sprouts that a chef friend of ours: Jordan Swim, makes, which are exceptional. I need to get that recipe from him and see if I can replicate his magic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catch-all

Leave a Reply

