A couple of variations on homemade Pizza – Mexican & Pesto Pizza

Pecan Basil Pesto Pizza with Tomato and Mozzarella

Pecan Basil Pesto Pizza with Tomato and Mozzarella

I make a pretty good pizza. It took me a while to get it right but once I found the right teacher it was easy. It was  Heidi Swanson’s blog that set me on the right path. Her pizza dough, which she learned from Peter Reinhart, works like magic.

Since we are vegetarian, and I believe in the golden rule of having no more than four ingredients on the pizza, we have been having a LOT of Margherita Pizza. But finally curiosity got the better of me and I decided to venture into pizzas beyond the Margherita. The logic I was following was this – a pizza is a piece of bread with something savory with some moisture on top. Ergo, anything hot eaten with a flatbread should work. My first attempt was an Indian style pizza. I used the pizza as a Naan, eaten with some kind of a Matar Paneer gravy and Paneer crumbles on top. Fail. The topping was too dry and the taste really did not come together well.

This time, the experimentation worked. I had made some Pecan Pesto to use up the last of the Basil from my dying plant. Using the idea from the Pioneer Woman blog as a guide, I put a thin layer of Pesto, followed by some fresh mozzarella, sliced tomato and then some more mozzarella. Finished it off with some shredded basil. Nice. It was delicious!

Mexican Pizza - Charro Beans and Salsa

Mexican Pizza – Charro Beans and Salsa

Next was a Mexican style pizza. A thin layer of green salsa, followed by homemade Charro beans (recipe follows soon) and topped with shredded cheddar. Finished with some fresh cilantro. This one tasted like Nachos!

Both are definitely keepers. Now, I just need to figure out a reliable way to make a pizza with some Indian flavors!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Italian

Leave a Reply

