In praise of simplicity – Pasta with Olive Oil and Cheese

 

Pasta with Olive Oil, Black Pepper and Cheese

Pasta with Olive Oil, Black Pepper and Cheese

Having received some eggplants from Greenling.com recently, I made some Eggplant Parmesan (the big difference from the posted recipe was that I drizzled some Olive Oil on the eggplant slices before I baked them. That was a very good idea). It was very good. Usually this is served, at restaurants, with some spaghetti and tomato sauce on the side . Since I had run out of tomato sauce and had some excellent Greek Olive Oil on hand, I decided to serve some pasta with just some Olive Oil, Black Pepper, Sea Salt and freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese. I even tore up some basil leaves and added them: they weren’t necessarily a good addition.

The pasta tasted good. No, let me rephrase that, it tasted VERY good. I replicated the same dish with a different Olive Oil that I had lying around (this was from CA) and the dish did not work. The oil was just too bitter. Made me think about the importance of good quality ingredients in Italian cooking. When this simple dish works, it works very well, but it does need top-notch ingredients to make it sing.

2 Comments

Filed under Italian

2 responses to “In praise of simplicity – Pasta with Olive Oil and Cheese

  1. Hi, Great blog. Looks very nice. This super easy and delicious Pasta with Garlic and Cheese recipe tastes very well with olive oil and cheese.
    Its a perfect tasty Italian recipe.
    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

