Attempt #5.5 – Veggie Shami Kabab

Yet another Veggie Shami Kabab

Yet another Veggie Shami Kabab

As those of you who have been following my blog know, I have been trying to recreate a vegetarian version of a Shami Kabab for years. For those of you who don’t know, the Shami Kabab is a meat patty – usually made with goat or lamb, with lentils and spices. It is typically eaten as a snack or appetizer. They are believed to have been introduced to South East Asia during the Mughal period hence the name Shami (Sham means Syria in Arabic). Lucknow, the city I spent a large part of my youth in, is known for Shami Kababs and it to these I would turn to escape the drudgery of boarding school food.

As to why this is attempt 5.5 – I took the lazy route, hence it is half an attempt. I had some Cholle/Chana Masala leftover and decided to use my mom’s idea of using it to make patties. I really didn’t do much except mashed half a potato with roughly the same amount in volume of Chana Masala, added about 1/2 tsp of Shan’s Shami Kabab Masala and salt to taste. That’s it. Mashed everything nicely, made patties (it yielded 3) and pan fried them.

The verdict – not bad. Definitely something I would consider making as an appetizer when we have people over. But as far as finding the perfect Veggie Shami Kabab, the quest continues…

 

1 Comment

Filed under Indian

One response to “Attempt #5.5 – Veggie Shami Kabab

  1. Pingback: Kathi Rolls/Frankies | foodydoody

Leave a Reply

