A Vegetarian Noodle Soup Idea

A generalized Veggie Noodle Soup

A generalized Veggie Noodle Soup

It was Saturday. The kids needed to be fed. The fridge was virtually empty of fresh veggies. We had little time to go grocery shopping and didn’t want to eat junk i.e. eat out. A crisis in the making for sure. If this was a movie this is where the Jaws music would start playing.

Not to worry though, this was where my DIY skills came in handy. There were some Japanese Style noodles in the pantry. Some veggie stock in the fridge. So I decided to make some noodle soup. The dirty little secret about noodle soup is that it is hard to screw up. All you need is some flavorful broth and good quality noodles. Since I had both, it was easy.

I was winging it so there isn’t a recipe as such, but here is what I used. I hope it inspires you to create something on your own too.

INGREDIENTS (this was enough for about 5-6 people)

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/2 onion – minced

4 cloves garlic – minced

1 tomato – diced into small pieces

3 cups veggie broth

1 large can baby corn

1 small can water chestnuts – sliced

Some chopped spinach – I used frozen

Salt and pepper to taste

1 Tbsp brown sugar – for sweet

Juice of 1 lime – for tart

Sriracha sauce – for heat and because the world is better place because of Rooster Sauce

Cooked Udon or Rice Noodles

STEPS

1. Heat the oil in a stockpot.

2. Add onion and garlic till they just start to brown.

3. Add tomato and cook till it is starting to become pulpy.

4. Add everything else and bring to a boil.

5. Reduce to low heat and simmer for 10 mins.

6. In a bowl, serve some noodles and cover with the broth and veggies.

7. Enjoy! Repeat 6 till you are full.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Catch-all, Indian Chinese

4 responses to “A Vegetarian Noodle Soup Idea

  1. Love these flavours, so fresh and juicy. I shared a noodle soup recipe a few days ago, I hope you will check it out x

    • I checked out your blog and recipe. Very nice. Looks like you and and I have similar interests. I never had noodle soup when I was an omnivore so I have no idea if my noodle soups (check out my Thukpa recipe) have anything similar to the taste profile of their meat counterparts, but they sure do taste good. I guess, that’s what matters in the end.

  2. Sandeep Sehgal

    Sanjiv..I still remember the noodles u and Neeraj made at ur sister’s place 🙂

Leave a Reply

