Vegetarian Paella (Pa-yay-ya)

Vegetarian Paella

Vegetarian Paella

A couple of weeks back my wife shared a Vegetarian Times recipe for Paella with me. Paella as you know is a Spanish dish made primarily with seafood. Alas, I discovered it after I had turned vegetarian so I have no clue whatsoever what it is supposed to taste like. Looking over the recipe I thought, it would end up as some kind of a pulao (pilaf) with a saffron flavor. Being a lover of rice in all shapes and forms, I decided to give it a go. (NOTE: It didn’t turn out like a Pulao but more like a Risotto)

The original recipe is here. What I made is similar with some minor variations.

The verdict – good but no cigar. If this is what Paella is supposed to taste like, then I am underwhelmed. It had the consistency of Risotto, was edible enough without being something I will ever crave. The whole family felt the same way. My wife thought that parsley is best left out of the recipe though I don’t have strong feelings on that either way (BTW, I personally am not a big fan of parsley. It is a waste of a herb IMO.).

Here goes. There are a lot of ingredients but the dish itself is pretty easy to put together.

INGREDIENTS (Serves 6 adults)

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
3 medium cloves garlic, minced
1 medium red bell pepper, cut into 2-inch-long strips
1 medium green bell pepper, cut into 2-inch-long strips
14.5-oz. can diced tomatoes
15-oz. vegetable broth
2 cups uncooked brown rice
1 tsp. saffron threads, dissolved in some hot water
½ tsp. dried thyme
14-oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and coarsely chopped
1 ½ cups frozen peas
¼ cup chopped fresh parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
STEPS
NOTE: Use a heavy bottomed pot with a heavy lid for this. I used my enameled cast iron pot.
1. Heat the oil on medium high heat and saute the onion and garlic
2. Add half the peppers, tomato, broth, rice, saffron, thyme and bring to a boil. Add about a cup of water.
3. Reduce heat and cover for 10 minutes.
4. Add the artichokes, peas, half the parsley and salt and pepper to taste.
5. Cover again and cook till the rice is done.
6. Mix in the other half of the peppers and parsley and you are done.
2 Comments

Filed under Catch-all

2 responses to “Vegetarian Paella (Pa-yay-ya)

  1. I love paella, and somehow cannot imagine what the vegetarian version will taste like. Will have to try it out and let you know!

Leave a Reply

