A South American Veggie Burger V2.0

A South American Veggie Burger V2.0

A South American Veggie Burger V2.0

A few weeks back I had posted a recipe for a veggie burger that was inspired by South American flavors. Lissa, from New Zealand had made some suggestions that were intriguing, so I decided to try them. She has suggested using black beans, coriander (cilantro) and jalapenos. So I set out to experiment.

I decided on using sweet potato, black beans and quinoa as the base, but when I looked at my sorry looking sweet potato, I decided to toss it rather than risk food poisoning. I had a couple of potatoes in the pantry, I decided to use one instead. I had some fresh corn so I decided to throw that in as well. I used “Slap yo Mamma” seasoning and some salt. But you can use salt and pepper and it should work. Overall the recipe worked very well. Enough for my picky kid to say this is awesome and that I should make it again.

Below is a list of ingredients. And, I am playing around with an application (Vignets) that one of my clients has developed to show you the recipe. This is just a first, very rough attempt at using it. LMK, what you think.

INGREDIENTS (for 8 patties)

1 Boiled Potato – peeled and mashed

1 cup cooked Black Beans (I had made Black Bean stuffing for enchiladas, I used the leftovers)

Kernels from a corn husk – boiled till slightly soft

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa – cook according to instructions

1 egg

2 Tbsp chopped cilantro

1/2 Jalapeno – chopped fine

Seasoning – Salt, Pepper, Paprika, Fajita Seasoning etc etc. whatever takes your fancy

Panko breadcrumbs

STEPS

See the slideshow(Vignet) here

2 Comments

Filed under Catch-all

2 responses to “A South American Veggie Burger V2.0

  1. Great photo! This sounds very tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

