A Fathers’ Day Middle Eastern Brunch

A Middle Eastern Brunch

A Middle Eastern Brunch

With travel commitments, not all of our family was together on Fathers’ Day. As a result, we ended up celebrating it a week later. I was out of town till late night on Saturday but when I woke up on Sunday, I was surprised by a Middle Eastern brunch that my wife, with help from my mother-in-law and sister-in-law had put together. And what a spread it was. We had Fattoush, Falafel, Hummus, Tzitziki, Dolmas, Baba Ghanouj(or Ghanoush) and Pita bread. Everything with the exception of the Dolmas and Pita bread was homemade. It was delicious and I am very thankful for the wonderful family I have.

Anyway, putting such a spread together is a great way to have brunch. It is tasty, healthy and can be put together quickly. Below are some of the recipes that my wife used. The Falafel recipe is my MIL’s secret recipe but I will be experimenting on Falafel to come up with something of my own.

Enjoy.

Fattoush – click here

Hummus – click here

Baba Ghanouj – click here

Tsatziki (aka Middle Eastern Raita)

INGREDIENTS (I apologize for the approximate recipe but I usually wing this one)

Greek Yogurt (whipped)

Some Salt and Pepper to taste

Dill

Cucumber (peeled, then shredded or diced)

STEPS

1. Add the minced garlic to the yogurt.

2. Add the salt and pepper to taste to the yogurt.

3. Add a generous amount of dill. Save some for the garnish.

4. Add the cucumber  and garnish with dill.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catch-all

Leave a Reply

