And now for something completely different – Veggie Goulash

Veggie Goulash

Veggie Goulash

I was in a rut. Lately I realized I had been cooking the same things again and again. Veggie Burgers, Enchiladas, Idli-Sambar, you know the routine. I needed to snap out of it.

Going through my old pictures I found my inspiration in a picture from Vienna from 20 years back. On a trip to Austria many years back, my friend Sanjay had taken me to a Hungarian restaurant in Wien that specialized in Goulash. The name comes from the Hungarian word gulyás, which means herdsman. Over a period of time Goulash became known as dish made by herdsmen. It is a hearty stew made of meat, vegetables, potatoes (of course, this dish is of the “meat and potato” family) seasoned with paprika and spices.

My recipe below is by no means a purists’ recipe. I took ideas from recipes posted on a variety of websites like Allrecipes.com and then did what I felt like doing. It turned out well and is something I will be making often. The best part is that with macaroni added, it is a full meal by itself.

INGREDIENTS (for 4 servings)

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/2 onion – minced

2 cloves garlic – minced

6 oz Fake Meat Crumbles (I used Morningstar)

1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes – no salt added

1 tsp Italian Seasoning ( you can pretty much use anything you feel like)

1/2 tsp red chili powder

A small sprig of rosemary

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 red pepper – deseeded and cut into bite sized pieces

1 corn – I cut the kernels off and used them

1/2 cup of uncooked macaroni

STEPS

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan on medium heat.

2. Fry the onion and garlic till they they are translucent.

3. Add the fake meat till it starts to brown.

4. Add the tomatoes and the seasoning. Add the veggies.

5. Add more water if it too dry. Cook till veggies are almost cooked through.

6. Add the macaroni and cook it through.

7. Serve hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catch-all

Leave a Reply

