Chettinad inspired Egg Curry

Chettinad inspired Egg Curry

Chettinad inspired Egg Curry

I am a sucker for Egg Curry. While it is fairly easy to get in India, it is near impossible to find it in Indian restaurants in the US. Necessity is the mother of invention and so over the years I have developed a recipe for it (see here) but I am always on the lookout for it whenever we eat out at an Indian restaurant.

I struck gold last week when we were eating at one of our recent favorites in the Dallas metroplex, a South Indian restaurant in Plano, TX called Chennai Cafe. Excellent place. Do give it a try if you are in the area. Not only did they have Egg Curry on the menu, they could make it four different ways! I chose the Chettinad style as delectable visions of the spicy culinary style swam before my eyes. Chettinad cuisine is from Tamil Nadu in South India and is known for its use of spices. Considered by many to be one of the spiciest and most aromatic cooking out of India, it is known for its meat dishes (read more here). I wasn’t disappointed. It was incredibly good.

Egg Curry appeared on our weekly menu the next week and I decided to experiment with Chettinad cooking. I found a Chettinad Egg Curry recipe that I modified. Unfortunately I lost my notes on the modifications and so I can only provide you a link to the recipe that I used as a starting point. One thing I do remember doing is using much fewer red chilies than the recipe called for.

Click here for the recipe.

The curry was good but it wasn’t as good as what I had at Chennai Cafe. The experiments shall continue but before I do any more, I need to do more sampling – Chennai Cafe, here I come!

2 Comments

Filed under Indian

2 responses to “Chettinad inspired Egg Curry

  1. Pingback: Tandoori Rotis on the Grill – a revisit | foodydoody

  2. Pingback: Vermicelli Biryani | foodydoody

Leave a Reply

