Talk about the versatility of Tofu – Tofu Tacos

Tofu Tacos with Homemade Refried Beans and Guacamole

I love Tofu. There, I’ve said it. It’s a good thing too, for as vegetarians, Tofu is one of our wonder-food providing much needed protein. However, till recently, I had only used Tofu in East Asian cuisine, then on a whim and a suggestion, used it in Indian cooking with fabulous results (click here for the recipe). That is how things remained till a recent visit to San Francisco.

On the way back, we decided to have lunch at the airport and at a Cal-Mex restaurant called Andale encountered our first ever Tofu tacos. They were fantastic. They were like regular tacos in all other respects – corn tortillas, beans, salsa, guacamole and cheese, but instead of a meat based protein, they had long chunks of deep fried tofu. It tasted great and something I had to try.

So when I procured some locally produced avocados and fresh pinto beans recently through a service for home delivery of local produce – Greenling (great offering, fantastic produce, just a little too pricey for me), I decided to make Tofu tacos.

Like I do for many things in life, I winged it. For the beans – I fried some chopped onion and garlic with a little oil, added a chopped tomato and added the beans (and water). Then I added some salt, fajita seasoning, fresh ground cumin and slow cooked it for a few hours in a heavy lidded pan till the beans softened. I then mashed the beans and adjusted the seasoning.

For the guacamole – it was chopped onion (I like using red onion in Mexican cooking), garlic, salt, lime, cilantro and chopped jalapeno. I added them to some mashed avocados. Adjusted the taste to my liking – want more heat: add jalapeno, want more salt : add salt, a little more tang? add lime juice. NOTE: Use a wooden or plastic spoon when mashing avocados, the guacamole won’t blacken easily.

For the Tofu – I marinated it in chopped garlic and store-bought chipotle seasoning. Then I pan-fried the chunks in a little oil.

And then, I put my tacos together – a warmed flour tortilla (you can use corn tortillas too), some beans, some chopped tomato and onion (I like to use a Pico di Gallo type salsa), some guacamole, a few chunks of Tofu and some shredded cheese. As Dora’s backpack would say “Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Delicioso!”.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Talk about the versatility of Tofu – Tofu Tacos

  1. Pingback: New Orleans inspired Veggie Sandwich | foodydoody

Leave a Reply

