Beyond the bean burger – Beet Quinoa Veggie Burger

Beet Quinoa Patty in all its glory

For those of us who became vegetarian in the 90s, a familiar scene at many restaurants went as follows:

Waiter – “What can I get you?”

Me – “I’m vegetarian, what options do you have?”

Waiter – “Let me check and I will be right back.”

Waiter comes back after checking with the kitchen.

Waiter – “We can do a vegetable plate for you…”

Me (saying) – “Fine. That would work.”

Me (thinking) – “That is just fabulous. When will these restaurants ever clue into the fact that vegetarians actually enjoy food and move beyond putting raw/steamed veggies in front of them?”

Well things have come a long way and a lot of casual dining restaurants do have a veggie burger on the menu. Mostly, though, this is a Black Bean Burger premade patty (most likely from Morningstar). So when my friend Sunjay pointed me to an article in NY Times on different takes on veggie burgers, I was intrigued. See here. Having made a trip to our Farmer’s Market I was loaded with fresh beets. A bag of quinoa (Pronounced – Kee-Nwa – a wonderful South American grain. Read about it here) beckoned from the pantry and I concocted the burger below. Turned out quite well. My picky daughter took several steps back when she saw the weirdly pink patties but after a bite, was a convert and wanted to take it for lunch.

Here goes.

INGREDIENTS (enough for 11-12 patties)

1 Tbsp cooking oil

1/2 onion finely chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 egg

1 can white northern beans

1 tsp lemon juice

1 lb roasted beets (recipe here)

1 cup dry quinoa – cooked according to instructions

1 tsp chipotle seasoning

1/2 tsp black pepper

A few sprigs of rosemary – finely chopped

Salt to taste

STEPS

1. Heat the oil, add the garlic and onion. Saute till the onion starts the brown. Set aside.

2. In a blender – puree the beans with lemon juice and egg. Set aside.

3. Peel and mash the beets in a large mixing bowl. Add the quinoa and everything else. Mix well.

4. Make into patties.

5. Preheat the oven to 400F.

6. In a saucepan with a little oil (or without if you are using cast iron or non-stick) – brown the patties slightly on both sides.

7. Place the patties on a cooking sheet and stick in the oven for 12 minutes.

8. That’s it. What I did after that is that I browned the patties a little more on either side before assembing into a sandwich. We had it with some mayo, mustard, ketchup, cheese but you can add all the fixins’.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Beyond the bean burger – Beet Quinoa Veggie Burger

  1. Wow. That is awesome. I find I enjoy beets much more when they’re a part of something else, rather than just themselves. The real-meat look of this is a little startling, I have to admit.

  2. Pingback: A homage to Kolkata – Veggie Chop inspired Veggie Burger | foodydoody

  3. Pingback: Burger eaters of the world, rejoice! – another veggie burger recipe | foodydoody

  4. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at
    a reasonable price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

