Stuff ’em peppers aka things you can do with leftovers 1

Stuffed Bell Peppers

A recent conversation with one of my friends reminded me of a dish that my mom made often but that I really did not enjoy too much – stuffed green bell peppers or capsicum (Bharvan Shimla Mirch in Hindi). My friend Pete, wanted to do a more contemporary take on this classic north Indian dish and use red, orange and yellow bell peppers and bake the stuffed peppers. That got me thinking and so when I got home I realized that I had some leftover concoction of potatoes and peas that I could re-purpose as stuffing for bell peppers. And so, I procured two green bell peppers, lopped their heads off, cleaned out the insides, stuffed with the potatoes and peas and lightly greased the outsides with olive oil. The stuffing was topped with a little bit of cheddar and then baked in an oven at 375F until the peppers blistered and the cheese melted.

The resulting dish was quite pleasing, healthy and would make a nice accompaniment to a meal. In a pinch, it would do as a main course with some bread and salad on the side as well. If you are a carnivore, you can stuff the pepper with some grilled protein. For the rest of us a TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein – soy crumbles)-onion-garlic combo stuffing might be another candidate for this dish.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Catch-all, Indian

Leave a Reply

