Paneer Ravioli (why not?) with a Korma Sauce

Paneer Ravioli in Korma Sauce

Browsing the Williams Sonoma website I had once found a video for making pasta. It looked pretty simple and so I decided to invest in a pasta making machine. The pasta maker arrived and looked exactly like the machine my mother-in-law had bought in Europe 25 years ago. Talk about a perfect design (or a lack of an R&D budget).

Anyway, I tried making the pasta. While edible, it wasn’t that great. It was still way better than packet pasta, I was hooked. And so I started looking for pasta making classes. It took me three months to find a class that wasn’t sold out, but I did. I very quickly realized that there were two things wrong with my recipe

  • The dough was not the right consistency
  • I was not airing(drying out) the dough before cutting the pasta

Once those two problems were fixed, the process itself was is straightforward. One new skill that I learned at this pasta making class was making ravioli. You start with the same base but instead of cutting the pasta, you use the sheets to make the little capsules. That was fun. As I was driving back home that night, I started thinking, what if I took the ravioli, stuffed it with some type of a paneer stuffing and served it with some kind of a creamy Indian sauce? Turns out, it tastes quite nice. However, because the sauce I used was quite flavorful, it completely drowned the subtle taste of the pasta. Next time, I need to try it with a milder sauce and a bolder (more heavily spiced) stuffing for the ravioli.

Here it is, a possible alternative to a deep-fried kofta. You should play around with the ravioli stuffing to get the flavor you want. Please note the amounts of ingredients are approximate since I was playing around with the recipe, I did not keep track of exactly how much I used.

A close up of paneer ravioli

INGREDIENTS (for 4 people)

Ravioli stuffing

1 tbsp oil

1/4 onion minced

1 tsp garlic finely chopped

1 inch ginger finely chopped

Paneer – crumbled (about 8oz)

Salt to taste

Red chili powder to taste

1 tsp garam masala

Korma sauce

1 Tbsp Oil

1 Bay leaf

5-6 Cloves

4 Green cardamom

1 Black cardamom

2 inch stick of cinnamon

1 medium onion – chopped

1/2 tsp Turmeric

1/2 tsp Chili powder

1/2 cup Yogurt whisked

2% milk

Salt to taste

1 tsp Garam Masala

STEPS

To make the stuffing

1. Heat the oil.

2. Fry the onion, garlic and ginger till the onion is starting to brown.

3. Add the paneer and spices and let it cook.

4. Set aside and cool.

To make the pasta sheets

1. Use the directions on the Williams Sonoma website. Click here.

2. Make sure you dry out the pasta sheets before you use them to make ravioli.

NOTE: I will post a video on making ravioli.

To make the korma sauce

1. Heat the oil.

2. Add the bay leaf, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and fry till they sputter.

3. Add the onion and saute till it starts to brown.

4. Add turmeric and chili powder and cook for 1-2 minutes.

5. Remove from heat and mix in the yogurt.

6. Cool and puree.

7. Put back on heat and add 2% milk to get the thickness of sauce you want (it should be pretty thick – like a marinara sauce).

8. Add salt to taste.

9. Add Garam Masala and cook for 1-2 minutes.

To finish

1. Take half cooked pasta and finish it in the sauce.

2. Serve hot with some bread.

Leave a comment

Filed under Indian, Italian

Leave a Reply

