A pretty darn good Black Bean Burger

Black Bean Burger with Baked Sweet Potato Fries

I have to admit, since I turned vegetarian, I do miss a good hamburger every now and again. There is something inherently satisfying about biting into a nice juicy meat patty that veggie burger patties just can’t replicate. For many years I tried veggie patties by different manufacturers to see if any of them could replicate the taste of a real hamburger but I am sad to report that I still haven’t found what I looking for (apologies to U2).

What I did realize though is that if you can move away from the idea of trying to recreate the taste of a hamburger, there are great veggie burger options. While these may not be reminiscent of the taste of a meat burger, they still are darn good sandwiches. Morningstar‘s Black Bean Burgers and various types of Gardenburger patties are ones that come to mind. The only imitation-meat burgers that are any good, IMO, are the fake chicken burgers, which are fantastic.

Anyway, for once, I decided to ditch the convenience of buying store-bought patties and decided to create my own. Upon inspection of the major brands, I realized that I will need

  1. Some protein
  2. Some grain
  3. A binder
  4. Some seasoning

So I settled on

  1. Black beans
  2. Bulgur wheat
  3. Boiled potato
  4. Assorted spices

The effort was surprisingly tasty. The good thing is that you can go crazy with this and use all sorts of ingredients. For starters, I definitely see a veggie burger in my near future with wild rice, pinto beans and maybe some lentils. With summer approaching, this might be something you want to experiment with.

Here is what I made. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS (for 4 large patties)

  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/4 onion – minced
  • 1/2 boiled potato – diced into small pieces
  • 1/2 tsp red chili
  • 1 tsp fajita seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp roasted ground cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup soaked bulgur wheat (I left it soaked overnight and did not need to boil it)
  • 1 and a 1/2 cup cooked black beans
  • 1/2 tsp amchur (dried mango powder – used this for some tang)
  • a little bit of oregano, sage and thyme chopped

STEPS

1. Heat the oil.

2. Saute the garlic and onion until the onion is just slightly starting to brown

3. Add the potatoes to the mix and add the spices – red chili powder, fajita seasoning, ground cumin

4. Let this cook for 3-4 minutes and then cool this concoction

5. In a bowl, mash the black beans along with the aforementioned concoction.

6. Add the bulgur, amchur and the herb mixture.

7. Make patties and pan fry.

8. Make burgers the way you like them. Put a slice of avocado, grilled onion, tomato, lettuce, whatever takes your fancy. Mustard, ketchup, Mayo etc. etc.

9. Enjoy with a chilled beverage of your choice.

4 Comments

Filed under Catch-all

4 responses to “A pretty darn good Black Bean Burger

  1. Ankur

    Genny makes some good veggie burgers. I’l get her to send what she does.

    I do love them though.

  2. Pingback: Burger eaters of the world, rejoice! – another veggie burger recipe | foodydoody

  3. Pingback: Beet and Lentil Burger | foodydoody

Leave a Reply

