Attempt #2 at a veggie Shami Kabab

I crashed and burned the last time I tried it. The Kabab was way too spicy. I had used a combination of boiled potatoes, garlic, onion and chana dal (split peas) along with Shan (a Pakistani brand)  Shami Kabab mix. For those of you who haven’t tried it, be careful with the Shan mix. It is very tasty but is high in salt and very hot. You have to experiment with the amount you want to use.

The opportunity presented itself when I was making some Black Bean Chili for dinner. I figured, I may as well try and make Kababs with the leftover Black Beans. So I went off again. This time it was a combination of Black Beans and Potatoes (the recipe is below). The result? A little better. A little more edible, but no cigar. It still doesn’t even come close to what I have in mind.  But what I found is that Chana Dal is probably needed, as is Besan (ground Split Peas Flour) for a binder perhaps? Anyway, will need to try some more variations. In the meantime, here is the experimental recipe.

INGREDIENTS

1 Tbsp Oil

½ tsp minced garlic

¼ onion finely chopped (one of the mongo American Yellow Onion, though perhaps Red Onions might be a better choice)

1 medium sized boiled potato

½ cup cooked black beans

½ tsp Shami Kabab Masala (I used the Shan brand) – careful, this is STRONG stuff

1 slice bread (used as a binder, entirely optional)

STEPS

1. Fry onion in hot oil

2. Add garlic when the onion is starting to brown

3. Saute for 1-2 mins

4. Add black beans and the Shami Kabab Masala and cook for 4-5 mins. Add a little water if the mix is too dry. You want it so you can make patties out of it.

5. Cool

6. Mash with one slice of bread soaked in water and then squeezed to get as much water out as possible.

7 The mixture should be pretty easy to handle at this time.

8. Make four balls and flatten into patties.

9. Heat about 1 Tbsp oil and pan fry the patties.

4 Comments

Filed under The Quest

4 responses to “Attempt #2 at a veggie Shami Kabab

  1. Hani

    Hey Sanjiv,

    I need to try your recipe. Veggie shami kabab’s are my favorite too! And I also use Shan masala to bring out their authentic taste. I use nutri nuggets for them instead with potato as a binder. You would never say they were not meat! I’ll be sharing the recipe soon.

    Your blog looks cool! I can’t wait to see more recipes.

    Hani

  2. ELLEN GENNRICH

    Hi from Sandy’s Mom,
    So Kabab doesn’t have to mean food on a stick! Who knew? I am going to try these patties as an appetizer for our happy hour with friends. Could I use canned beans perhaps? How does your suggested Masala differ from Garam Masala? I’m hoping my local Indian grocer will have the mint chutney you suggested.
    I’ll be reading your webpage for new ideas. You’re a good writer!
    Ellen Gennrich

  3. Ellen
    Thanks! I appreciate the comments. Kababs generally mean something to do with meat. Seekh (which literally means a stick) Kababs are Kababs on a stick/skewer.
    Try the canned beans and let me know how they turn out. In fact you can try these with Kidney, Pinto or Chick Peas. Hey, come up with your own recipe and share it with us.
    Hani,
    Good idea. I will try the soy nuggets and that post my results. Do share the recipe if you can.
    Foodydoody

  4. Ellen,
    One more thing Shami Kabab masala is a different blend of spices from Garam Masala. Your Indian grocer should have it.

Leave a Reply

